A Different Kind of Mommy Post

Posted: January 29, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
Image

One of the super cute photos in the article that you simply must read…

Ok, so this is a LOT different from my typical posts. But hey, while we are busy working to encourage moms out there to give their babies life, it’s also important to pass on some tips of exactly what to do with those precious gifts…

I’m a young mom – with one toddler and one baby coming later this year =). And I know I can often use encouragement and helpful tips. My children are some of the most precious gifts in my life, but that doesn’t mean I always know what to do with them!

So I’m going to pass on this EXTREMELY AWESOME article that my mom shared with me. It’s called “They are Listening: 19 Things We Should Say to Our Children.” Moms are sometimes told what not to say to our kids, but what about the things we should be saying?? You may not agree with every single phrase in this list, but overall – it’s great advice that I’ll be trying to follow.

I’d also add a couple other things I want to say to my children.

1) My parents always said this to us: “We can always talk about it. No matter what you do, we can talk about it. No matter how bad it is, we will be here for you, and we will work it out.”

2) “It’s ok. You’re safe. Mommy’s here.” This seems to be helpful for little ‘fraidy cat kiddos. We all need to reassured that we really are safe and that someone we trust is here for us.

So, to finish this out, why don’t you let me know things you try to say to your kids? What are important words we need to be building in our children? Because after all, after we choose to give life to these beautiful gifts, we need to remember to treat them like the gifts they are!

Comments
  1. Jeanne says:

    Thank you and your Mom for sharing these 19 things to say to our children! Even though I didn’t have all positive things to say with my children I can at least know these things now with my grandchildren. I’ve always said, ‘nothing is ever too late’!

  2. tessadoghor says:

    To my unborn kids:
    I love you so much
    There is nothing I could not forgive
    Always feel free to come to me first
    I want what is best for you always
    I will always love and support you
    no matter the choices that you make
    My love is your gift that I will never take back.

Leave a comment